Fashion Industry Careers - Options (See individual threads for specific careers.)

Thanks. I can't wait until I get back to europe to presue my career. At the moment I live in Socal, which isn't the ideal place in the US to presue a career in fashion.

If you are reading the thread about Fashion Journalism you will see that prosperk, who is actually a fashion journalist, says that education is not a prime factor in getting a job as a journalist ... he feels very stongly about that. And I'm a stylist and I feel the same way about what I do.

A half-decent education is obviously an important component of any writer's profile but journalism and media studies degrees are about as useful as t*ts on bulls in the real world.

Bette is spot on with this advice to you:

You learn by doing and find gigs/jobs by making connections along the way. Now becoming a fashion editor, which is sort of a cross of both seems to also require getting in at the bottom, working really hard, moving up the ranks and showing some real talent to the right people, too.

PK

As i have previously stated, I'm thinking about a career in Accessories/shoe design. And I'm now pretty sure that is the right choice for me! The thing is, the only place to get a bachelor in this is FIT, and everything I've read in this forum kind of scares me... Is FIT really that bad? I understand that it's not as good as Parsons, but I haven't got the money to go there, and I REALLY want this education.
But I can't even really afford FIT, if I decide to go there I'm facing years of paying back my loans... Since I'm a international student... So is if worth it?

I'm not looking to be the next jimmy choo or anything, but my dream is to open my own little store and design and create shoes and accessories... If I work hard, will I be able to do that after FIT?

Global marketing seems to be in high demand. This article deals with the issue in India, but it is relevant in a lot of other regions, I think.