How to approach magazines with your blog/portfolio/etc.

Sophie66

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am looking for some advice with promoting my blog and after looking through all 35 pages of this forum section I can't find anything specifically related to this question (please feel free to move/let me know if there is!)

I have been writing my blog for 3 years (see my signature if you want to check it out) and after working up a contact list of names and email addresses from magazine mastheads and fashion PR websites I want to take it to the next step and send it out via email.

However I am really wary of appearing like a spammer/cold caller etc when emailing them. I know that editors and PR people are really busy and must receive hundreds of emails every week.

How do I make my email stand out?

The contacts I have found are from magazines and websites that I genuinely read and enjoy so I thought mentioning articles I have read from their publications would be a good idea. However I want to be/seem genuine and not ramble on (can you tell I have a habit of it?!) with irrelevant content.

I work in PR/design myself but for the music industry so I am used to sending and receiving press releases and I know how annoying some people find unsolicited email even if it is meant with the best intentions.

I have put together a mailout that I designed myself (I love html!)
http://pastehtml.com/view/bhv6bpshs.html

I thought this would show off some more of my skills. Do you think this is a good idea?

I was thinking a hello, then and intro to me and my blog and why their publication is relevant and then a 'please have a look at my blog/mailout below'

Has anyone sent/recieved emails like this?
and if so
*were they sucsessful?
*what made them stand out?
*any big no/nos?
*how long should they be?
*any other tips?

A big thanks!

Sophie.xx

Last edited by a moderator: