Fashion/Lifestyle Publishing and Age

Reaction score
Too Old to start a Career in Magazines?

Just curious: most people who are interning at mags are doing so for college credit. Well, what if I'm out of school and interested in a career change? I'm sure the powers that be can appreciate that, but I would be competing with younger girls. Is it realistic to think I could START a career at a magazine in my mid-late 20s? Or is it too late?

Interning is possible for anyone, but remember interning is not going to be as exciting for you as someone else who just got out of school with little to no experience. Often, interns don't get projects that involve a lot of thought or time. Usually, interns get the stuff nobody else wants to do. If you're going for a magazine, be prepared to run errands, make copies. I've never interned at a magazine (i graduated in fashion design), but the magazine world is hard to climb. But they all start as interns, so be prepared to work full time for NO money. Many magazines (as well as design houses) ask that. You might run a risk of getting bored and frustrated because you've been in the career wheel for a while, but in essence, you're starting all over again. Be sure to use your other skills to set yourself apart from the younger interns and start building up contacts! They will help you when you're ready to move up. Good luck!

why don't you try on a sabbatical year???
Take a sabbatical year, intern for a while and you'll see...
don't quit your job... because if then you regret...
I don't know where you live and if this kind of things is possible, though...