New Designers - Funding, Publicity and Marketing Your Line

Oak Jeans

Reaction score
Hey,

Im a young designer trying to market myself, i have a limited budget and need more ideas on how to get myself noticed.

I have already gone down the route of giving stylists i know free garments, im gaining abit of a following on myspace as well. Other things ive tried is giving free stuff out to boutiques and some magazine editiors. Ive been told to hire models to wear my stuff in clubs etc but does this really work?

Its hard work and i gave up everything to pursue this passion so if any of you have some good ideas on how i can get noticed please let me know!

Have you tried hiring a PR rep or publicist? I'm freelancer who does a lot of fashion writing and most of the new designers I profile I find out about from PR agencies (I'm established enough that they send me press releases and let me know about new clients). You might be able to write up a press release or make a press kit yourself, or get a friend who's a good writer to help, and send it to local media outlets.

I also check Iqons for new stuff regularly, and keep up with the goings on of the fashion blogosphere (sometimes I'll come across cool new stuff that way).

Oak Jeans,

I'd just like to welcome you to the Fashion Spot. :flower:

And good topic! Hopefully you'll get some lots of input here . I don't have a lot more to offer thatn jaspin offered ... all excellent ideas.

Have you tried actually selling your stuff? There is a website called etsy.com that's pretty much all independent designers. maybe you could start off small and get your myspace followers to go there and buy.

My site

Hey

thanks for reading and replying to this, i have have a couple of people ask for a press release and keep meaning to get one done but im pretty sure i couldnt do one myself. If anyone reading this can write them please let me know, i am willing to work something out if someone can help:wink: