Anyone went to a normal college but now work in fashion industry?

Reaction score
I'd like to hear some career advices from those who now work in fashion industry but did not go to schools like FIT or Parsons.

I go to Wellesley, it's a liberal arts college, and Career Development Center here doesn't help me much since most people here are going into IB or Med school after graduation.

So I'd like to know what sort of skills are helpful in fashion industry? What should I emphasize on my resume or cover letters?

thanks so much :smile:

I am still a student as well so this is just from what I've heard but... I have some friends who have graduated from normal colleges and now work in the fashion industry. One girl who is an accessories assistant at W graduated from Notre Dame with a degree in architecture and Italian. A guy graduated from Tulane with French and Internatioal relations and is doing fashion PR (formerly Yigal Azrouel, now some luxury perfume brand). Both are young though and only graduated in the past year or two. It would be nice to hear from more people who are working in the industry and have more experience. I'm curious too!:blush:

From what I hear, unless you want to be a designer where you need all those specific skills, getting a job in fashion is a lot more about networking and getting in the door and on-the-field experience (internships) than it is about what you did in school.

there are so many types of jobs in fashion though so I think the skills you need would depend on what type of career you're thinking of.

I'm thinking a common thread no matter what you want to do is having people skills and working under pressure.