Help me Find Info re: Employment/Work/Jobs/Internships In The Fashion Industry

JENEE218

Reaction score
Hey I Need Some Major Help With The Fashion Industry. Anyone Who Works In The Industry And Has Been In It For Awhile I Need Your Advice In Direction. I Am A Recent College Grad With A Bus. Mgnmt Degree. I Am Very Interested In Working In The Fashion Industry As A Merchandiser/ Visual Or Anything Related To That Field. I Have Been Job Hunting For Months Now And Since I Do Not Have Experience In The Field Nor A Degree In Fashion I Cannot Seem To Get My Foot In The Door. How Is A Person Like Me Who Has No Prior Experience In The Field Able To Get Their Foot In The Door If Noone Will Hire Someone With No Experience. All I Know Is That I Am A Motivated,creative, Amibitous Individual Who Will Drop Everything To Be Able To Work In The Business. Need Help !!!!!! What Am I Doing Wrong?? Where Should I Start?? Should I Go Back To School For Fashion??i Need Help Asap!!

hmmm...that sucks...
you can't even get a job as an asst or anything?...
where have you applied?...

Well Right Now I Work For Lexus, You Know Make The Most Of My Degree And Be Fiancially Stable, But I Have Been Going To All The Major Department Store Websites And Applying. I Just Applied To Laboratory Institute Of Merchandising And Fit ,but I An Told That You Do Not Need A Degree From Fashion To Work In The Industry. Its Hard Since I Dont Have Any "real" Experience , I Would Be Greatful Enough If I Can Go Internships For Now To Build Some Kind Of Fashion Resume.

i think you would have to be more pro-active than applying via some website...

check wwd help wanted section and actually apply for a job advertised...
even if you start as a receptionist...
it's a foot in the door and a way to make contacts...
contacts are what are going to get you where you want to go...