how do i know if i'm 'good enough' for fashion design?

madeline20

Reaction score
Hey guys,
i am a 24 year old university student from Sweden and i'm seriously thinking of applying to study fashion design in either france, spain or italy. i'm currently studying sociology, which is OK, but i'm not passionate about it and i wouldn't want to hold a normal office job in the future. i'm veery creative, good at drawing, i have a sense of style, beauty, space and colour and i LOVE fashion. but i am NOT good with sewing!! and i am not a picasso with drawing either, but i think i would get great if i practised more. i just started designing clothes a few weeks back (hadn't been drawing in 5 years before that) and i've been improving a loot! today i was drawing the whole day, and the designs just came one after another, i have so many ideas. but i'm still doubtful. i know there are a lot of highly talented people in the field, and i am afraid that someone would always be better than me and i woulnd't succeed or get jobs. what do you guys think? should i just go for it? do you have to be a master with drawing and sewing in order to get somewhere?

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR REPLYS!! :smile:

Hi there,
I think you just have to really want it
If you would still do fashion even if you didn't get a job related to it or if you got one at a low salary and still continued
Not good to compare yourself to other people
It's all up to you and what you want for yourself, regardless of what other people have :wink:

We'd love to see your designs in this thread, madeline :flower: !
Aspiring Designers Lookbook - share your designs

With all creative professions there is a learning curve and a process everybody has to go through. Although the field is highly competitive, especial if you want to enroll in top schools, everybody has an equal chance of succeeding in the industry.