Advice: What Is Your Process?

fashioninfant

Reaction score
I am a new photographer and trying to plan a photoshoot. I’ve tried to plan a photoshoot before and I am never fully satisfied with the end result. I feel like what I envisioned never comes to life. With this information, I think I don’t plan/conceptualize well. The way my brain operates I have one idea that stems into different like ideas and it’s subsets and I try to find the big picture amongst all of the idea. I try to create images with my pic references. Sometimes my mind seems like a lot happening at once. However I want to try a different way. Maybe I am not doing it right. How do you come up with your ideas for concepts and what are the steps you are taking?

My message is from a stylist's perspective, so you may need to adapt for yourself :

At the very beginning as a stylist, I used to build concepts/mood boards/ideas on what I like and what I wanted to show/style but ended up struggling sourcing the clothes I needed and therefore having a diluted concept once on set.

Now I only based my shoot ideas on what’s going on during the fashion weeks with the collections, the trends, etc.

When my fashion part is ready, I take usually a huge time to figure out how I want to show the clothes to catch the readers' attention -sort of speak.

I delve into my main references which are like 100+ images that really « shape » what kind of imagery I always want to produce. It is important for me to have that to keep consistency on my whole work but anyway.

For a specific shoot, my ideas are separate this way :
  1. All the fashion looks: let’s say « little black dress »
  2. The main reference or « the whole imagery for the shoot »: a bit of CK in the 90s, Vogue Italia, MAS’ former work, Penn’s work, etc.
  3. The references of how I want to style the « little black dress ». Let’s say with trousers, giving a new meaning to sensuality, no more legs shown but still some skin was shown with the back, arms, etc