What is the best way to collect designer bags?

CTstyle

Reaction score
I have so many curiousities about the best way to start collecting, the best way to buy (charge or cash?)
Should you start with a current trend or start with vintage? Is it better to charge it or to save up to buy it with cash or check? How much and how fast do the values sink? I mean, what makes a bag rise in value as it becomes a vintage and what makes a bag lose value? Which ones are most people's "first" designer bags? Do you keep more or resell more? Do you choose which ones to buy according to the market/resell value or do you just go for what you like?

WOW those are some really interesting questions! I'd love to hear what softgrey has to say...

I've been collecting bags for the last 10 years. Here are my two cents:
I think you should ALWAYS go with what you LOVE. Trends are just that - TRENDS. They are never around long enough and unless you are a part of an "IT" crowd in Hollywood, do you really care to keep up with them? Work around YOUR style. YOU are the one who is going to wear the bags in the end.
Never buy with intent to sell (you will only get disappointed). NEVER charge the bag unless you are going to pay off that statement as soon as it comes (otherwise the bag is going to cost you double because of CC high interest rates)!
My first designer bag was Moschino pochette (still have it!) and what really started my passion for collecting is Louis Vuitton!:heart: Personally, I have yet to get rid of any of my bags! Just recently, I got into Fendi SPY bags but again, not because they are trendy and everyone has them, but because when I saw them in the store, I fell in LOVE instantly!!! They are truly a work of art!
To sum it all up, follow your heart and not some fashion magazine's what's IN and what's OUT stats! Good luck!:flower: